A Head Start on 2010 Uncluttering Resolution!

I’ve been thinking about all the downsizing I’ve accomplished during the last 6 years.  Some of this has been done through necessity as I’ve moved several times from a home of 2200 square feet to currently a one bedroom condo of approximately 720 square feet. 

As I have made each move, more and more items have been sold, donated, or given away.

I feel cluttered living in this space even though many of my wonderful items are in a storage unit.  What I’ve recently realized is that my taste in furnishings and collectibles has changed.  Much of what I have around me is a reflection of the type of furniture that others have owned and I’ve copied their look.  As I grow older, my style has also changed.  I am more selective about antiques or used furniture in my life.  I like clean lines and simple furnishings, enhanced by color around me.

During my preparation for Hurricane Ike in September, 2008, I was on the phone with my cousin, Rachel, storing  my fragile items and moving furniture away from the front window.  I realized I no longer remembered where or how I acquired some of the very items I was packing.  There was no emotional attachment other than that formed by carting these objects around for the last 40 years of my life!  I pledged during that moment of recognition that I would eliminate 20 – 25% of all I owned over the upcoming 12 months.  And I did! 

After my research on minimalist living,  I realize that I do love having space around me, but space that is open and uncluttered.  This is, after all, what I’ve been promoting to my clients, that of living with less and having everything in its space and place.

So, I’ve decided to take another step towards downsizing!  I hereby pledge, as of today, to begin reducing my belongings by 50% over the next 12 months.  I will examine everything I own and decide why I have it, whether it will remain or go, and then conscientiously move things out of my life!

Come share this adventure with me!

2 Responses to “A Head Start on 2010 Uncluttering Resolution!”

  1. Jena Says:

    I personally have known Kim for 11 years and have seen this transition happen over time! It is liberating and I support her in this 2010 journey. She has such a knack for supporting others in their decluttering efforts as well; I follow her lead in making sure to MAKE SPACE for the good things in life, from wealth and health to creativity and positive energy which flows more freely in uncluttered spaces! Even an early Spring cleaning does wonders for the mind!!!
    I personally have know Kim for 11 years and have seen this transition happen over time! It is liberating and I support her in this 2010 journey. She has such a knack for supporting others in their decluttering efforts as well; I follow her lead in making sure to MAKE SPACE for the good things in life, from wealth and health to creativity and positive energy which flows more freely in uncluttered spaces! Even an early Spring cleaning does wonders for the mind!!!

  2. judy Says:

    I’ve known Kim, since 8th grade, and we needn’t go there as to how many years ago, that was!!! I’ve been a minimalistic for years, long before it was popular, but still I accumulate ‘stuff’. Have no idea where it comes from. but I too, have been cleaning for awhile. In fact today, I was going thru some paper stuff, and found a rebate check from my car insurance for $75.00, dated last August! I’ve no idea what it is for, or why, but who cares! It is valid for 6 months and off to the bank I’m heading! On the very rare occasion, it does pay (no pun intended) to hand onto a few things….
    happy new year Kim, love you, and please use my new email, noted above as my computer is leaving any day now. I’m at the library.

Leave a Reply

